Sunday, January 17, 2010

2009 Ray W Awards

It's that time of year again, well actually I'm late this year but who really cares.
Tonight the 2009 Ray W Awards are revealed to the public all winners were voted in by there peers, or fans, or well both.
Tonight's show is dedicated to the lasting memory's of Corey H and Emil Brown, one of whom I liked and one of whom I don't really care for. You be the judge, but for now enjoy the 2009 Ray W Awards !!
And the Winner of Best Royals Blog

Royals Centricity

This successful spin-off blog really had a great year in 2009 and in the end the votes were tallyed and Old Man Duggan came out on top. Royals Review somehow comes in second for the second straight year.

Best Royals Blog Award Winnners
2008: Rany on the Royals
2009: Royals Centricity


Best New Royals Blog goes to.......

Kings of Kauffman

Who edges out Fire Dayton Moore for the honor.
Wally Fish really has done quite a nice job with the site. But not linking to RoRetc isn't one of them.

Best New Royals Blog Award Winners
2008: Royally Speaking
2009: Kings Of Kauffman


And the Best Royals Relief Pitcher of 2009 was........

Robinson Tejeda

Seriously when Soria is forbid from winning the award and the setup men are Farnsy and Cruz, Robbie is the clear winner in this one.

Best Royals Relief Pitcher Award Winners
2008: Ramon Ramirez
2009: Robinson Tejeda


The IRTGFNORRP goes to.......

Zack Greinke

An award that was made for guys like Ryan Freel, Willie Bloomquist and Lenny DiNardo.
I mean last years winner was Jeff Fulchino !!!
But still ZG's season was unforgettable so the Cy Young winner also gets the
"IRTGFNORRP Award" because when your hot you're named Zack Greinke.
(Apologies to Ryan Freel for getting cheated out this year)

"IRTGFNORRP Award" Winners
2008: Jeff Fulchino
2009: Zack Greinke

Best Royals Board........

Royal Board

Funny because all we did was drop an "s" from the award to get the winner.

Best Royals Board Award Winners
2008: Board
2009: Royal Board

Best Royals Sportswriter:

Joe Posnanski

Sam tried hard to repeat and came close but face it Joe had a killer year. Greinke and Posnanski made it a great year for the Royals when really it was horrible.

Best Royals Sportswriter Award Winners
2008: Sam Mellinger
2009: Joe Posnanski

Best Royals Prospect Blog:

The Pipeline
What back to back years has been the closest race this year The Pipeline edges The Royal Tower. And it was close again came down to one second place vote. Congrats to Ken on the win and I really hope you'll find the time and will to continue this year.

Best Royals Prospect Blog Award Winners
2008: The Royal Tower
2009: The Pipeline


The Overall Best Royals site is .........

Royals Review

For the second straight year the juggernaut that is Royals Review can't be stopped. Royals Authority comes in second.

Overall Best Royals Site Award Winners
2008: Royals Review
2009: Royals Review


Best Restaurant........


Hey don't blame me blame Royals Review for this one... ZG's Chipolte came in second, Burger King third.

Best Restaurant Award Winners
2008: Sonic
2009: Hooters

Best Royals Executive is.....

JJ Picollo
Mike Arbuckle

A tie !!! If the Royals don't win then why should an executive right ?

Best Royals Executive Award Winners
2009: JJ Picollo + Mike Arbuckle


Royals Prospect of The Year..........

Mike Montgomery

Montgomery had a great season last year and we look forward to an even bigger 2010 from Mike. Want to know more about Mike ? I suggest reading one of the fine Royals Prospect blogs mentioned earlier.

Royals Prospect of The Year Award Winner
2009: Mike Montgomery


Best Kc Radio Personality............

Greg Schaum

Out of the Big Four:Nick Wright, Soren Petro, Steven St. John, and Greg. Greg recieved the most love from the Royals fans. And of course it was all well deserved. I'd say Greg was the face of the Royals radio scene.

(PS. Greg sorry I never got the post up about Jacobs, the New K, and the wind. I never got the info I needed from the Royals. But Jacobs didn't rake so I was right. Thanks so much for allowing me to guest)

Best Kc Radio Personality Award Winner:
2009: Greg Schuam

Best Soda goes to ....


Because they have all sorts of spam out there in the Outfield. (Pepsi Party Porch)
Because they spents millions to change there logo, only to later go to "Pepsi throwback" made with REAL SUGAR.
And Finally,
Because they won't have a single ad in the Super Bowl. (That's gotta suck)

Best Soda Award Winner
2009: Pepsi


Finally the Awards I give out:

Special Achievement Award goes to ....

Zack Greinke

For all he did for the Royals this summer without him, well it'd have been just another sucky season.

Special Achievement Award Winners
Joe Posnanski
2009: Zack Greinke


Best Royals on Radio Affiliate

Omaha 590 AM (Nebraska)

Best Royals on Radio Affiliate Winners
Versailles 95.1 (Missouri)
2009: Omaha 590 AM (Nebraska)


Thanks for watching uh, I mean reading. Congratulations if your a winner.
Also if you won feel free to post your acceptance speech in the comments.


  1. Thanks, I appreciate the award, Ray. It can't be argued that Keith does a good job over at the Tower, so I guess it's an honor to be nominated. The '09 season did a great deal for my readership, and I'm thankful for that....

  2. I, too, must say thank you for the Ray W Award. As an avid fan of the blogs that Royalscentricity somehow beat out, I have to say I'm honored. As weird as this might sound, it might just have been enough positive reinforcement to keep this ball rolling.

  3. Boom Roasted. Well played Ray! You've now been linked on my site (may take a while for it to show up).

    Thanks for the award as best new Royals blog. Positive reinforcement is a beautiful thing and it is much appreciated.

    Here's to a bigger and better 2010 for Kings of Kauffman and all the other Royals blogs out there.

    Maybe we will have a product on the field to get excited about (in a good way) one of these years.